Skip to content

A special shout out to Mike…

July 10, 2009
by

Who volunteered me as the only teacher in our tour group, forcing me to be up front and center for part of the tour.  Because of this, I was forced to stand between our mysogynistic tour guide and a man dressed as a gladiator for 15 minutes while they told the (degrading) story of women in the Colliseum.  The gladiator was constantly razzing me to pay attention, telling me it was important and asking why Americans knew so little about the Roman history. The worst part was probably being prompted to describe what an orgy was in front of a tour group with 6 and 8 year olds. 

A new fun fact: our tour guide says that Chicago  in Italian (or latin? we could not remember) means to take a shit.  Do you believe this? I am not sure I do…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ian Gray permalink
    July 10, 2009 7:21 pm

    This is my first ever blog – so bear with me.

    Most you have never heard my name, but Richard and I worked together at St. Lawrence Starch located in Port Credit, Canada. Thinking about it now – it was awhile ago – starting in 1980(?). Richard made an immediate and enormous impact from day one with his amazing professional ability and his sense of humour! The plant stopped corn milling in 1990, I called Brian Sayer at National Starch in Collingwood Canada and the future unfolded as it should.

    The first time I saw Jane – Richard said he had to excuse himself from a meeting because his girlfriend was picking him up at work. I looked out the window and saw Jane walking up the walkway.

    I notice you visited Quebec. No doubt Richard exercised his famous French accent with his rendition of “two egg over real easy, two strip bacon side by side, each together…. (I forget it now, but I am sure Richard has not lost his ability to let it rip!)

    Richard and Jane, you have a wonderful family. We have four kids too – the two eldest (girls) are married each with a baby. The two boys are both in British Columbia. John is an Officer in the Navy and Alex is going a construction management programme.

    Thank you for including me in your blog

    All the best,
    Ian

  2. Jon Evans permalink
    July 11, 2009 4:09 pm

    Lafave’s,

    I am sitting in the back porch with Susan, Joan and Nolie, completing a crossword puzzle in record time. It is raining on Rock the District. We are planning to sneak our own liquor into AMC Castleton later. We looked up “Chicago” in Italian. Only “chic” means anything, just as we use it. In latin there is no meaning. Grazie for keeping us informed.

Leave a Reply

