Skip to content

Mont Tremblant – October 2-4, 2009

October 7, 2009
by

Just back from a wonderful weekend at Mont Tremblant, Quebec. It was a terrific celebration of friendship and family as we had the opportunity to show some very good friends Richard’s old stomping ground and also managed to visit with all four of his brothers and cousin Vic and wife Ann.

In spite of a dismal weather forecast, the rain held off for us and we enjoyed bicycling, hiking, hot tubbing and all kinds of outdoor activities. There was even a contest for the most perfect red maple leaf!

Special thanks to Steve for arranging all of this. Note that I described him as blond and not at all resembling the Lafave side of the family. Our friends recognized him immediately as a relative when I wasn’t there! Also, Dru arrived and was immediately on my poop list. He honked the horn and I fell off my bike amid hoards of tourists. The good news – I didn’t break my arm this time! (He was removed from the poop list so he could properly celebrate his birthday that evening with the spanking machine.

Here are some pictures which I hope capture some of the autumn beauty in the hills north of Montreal. Enjoy!

Jane

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    October 7, 2009 2:31 am

    Wait a minute… there was a Cornhole convention in Tremblant?!! I must have missed the memo. Looks like you had beaucoup de fun (and knowing Steve, you ate and drank well). Great photos, wish I was there!

  2. Lisa permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:56 am

    All of the pictures are great, but I particularly love the one of the whole group standing by the water. You’re so lucky to have such great friends!

    xoxo

  3. back9nine permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:09 pm

    What a lineup of golf courses. I guess Augusta was booked?

    The pics from your Tremblant trip were quite a flashback for Jennifer and I. Looks like the whole Williamson Run neighborhood was there.

    Best wishes,
    The Kelly’s

  4. Elaine permalink
    October 7, 2009 2:51 pm

    So happy that Steve even arranged for the rain to hold off! Great pictures. The vin rouge must have been flowing…wish I was there too!
    Hugs
    Elaine

  5. Laurie permalink
    October 8, 2009 2:44 pm

    I particularly liked the shot of Jane and Richard in front of the lake with the beautiful fall colours on the other side.

    Many thanks for sharing these with us.

    Lots of love,
    Laurie

  6. Elaine permalink
    October 8, 2009 8:58 pm

    I see you snuck in a few pictures of Lac Raymond too. They bring back many happy memories of Thanksgiving weekends in Val Morin…racking and burning leaves,sitting by a roaring fire and the yummy smell of turkey cooking.
    Hugs
    Elaine

    • Chris Penny permalink
      April 7, 2010 10:22 am

      Hi Elaine, I just heard about Richard yesterday afternoon and haven’t been able to think of anything else since. “Deepest sympathies” just doesn’t cut it but sadly its all I’ve got. Richard had a joy about him that you don’t run into a lot. I realise now that it was probably the thing the most made me want to be his friend. I’ll be thinking of you and your family in the days ahead and wishing you all peace.

Leave a Reply

