Skip to content

Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving!

October 11, 2009
by

`Just a quick note to wish a Happy Canadian Thanksgiving to friends and family near and far. It’s a beautiful autumn weekend here; the sun is shining and the trees are blazing with colour.  Although we’re a very small crowd in Arnprior this year, there’s a big turkey roasting in the oven, and the house smells divine.

We’re thinking of the Lafaves, of all the friends and neighbours in Carmel, and of the extended families on both sides.  Love to all from the Arnprior chapter of this motley crew.

Jane and Rich, we  can’t wait to see you next week, and I’m hoping that Steve Drury is going to give me a tutorial on the finer points of table dancing.

xo

Lisa

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    October 12, 2009 2:13 pm

    Thanks Lisa for your Thanksgiving wishes. My best to the Coady gang.
    My brother Jack was in Collingwood visiting his daughter Debbie and her family. We managed to enjoy brunch with them before rushing home to put our “bird” in the oven. Needless to say we are fasting today, and I am perusing recipes for leftover turkey. By the way I suggest you get your take dancing tips from Taylor, Steve’s daughter. She is with the Winnipeg Ballet. Unfortunately Steve was not accepted.I can’t imagine why!!! Have a great weekend chez Richard and Jane’s next weekend. I hear they had turkey this weekend too.
    Hugs
    Elaine

    • Steve Drury permalink
      October 13, 2009 1:52 pm

      We had Ham…speaking of Hams, yes I am on my may to Indy. For the record let me remind you all that even though I was not accepted to the ballet school (after several attemps), I was however in “Riverdance” for a few weeks…sadley I was asked to leave because I kept raising my arms!!
      I am looking forward to my Indy vist…Table Dancing lessons will be optional at best.

  2. Clare permalink
    October 12, 2009 4:21 pm

    Great shots of friends, family and foliage. Perhaps there is yet another meaning to an FFO Rich?

    We had our family turkey dinner on Saturday with the Reids, then had turkey dinner again at a wedding reception on Sunday. No turkey leftovers for sandwiches for us…boo hoo. Hope you all had a good one.

    We’ll be looking for pictures of Lisa table dancing next weekend in Indy…

  3. Laurie permalink
    October 12, 2009 5:32 pm

    We had to make do with a roast chicken over here in Stockholm to mark the holiday weekend. Anders and Emma didn’t quite get it and came home with take-out sushi too. A rather eclectic Thanksgiving dinner needless to say. Missed you all tons and my mouth is still watering at the thought of your pecan pie Jane!
    Lots of love,
    Laurie

  4. Uncle Jack permalink
    October 13, 2009 12:53 pm

    and the best from us. I was out in San Diego for most of the week, got back late Friday night and went to the Nyman farm Saturday. So we cheated and bought a turkey roll, which is basically a deboned, stuffed turkey which our butcher also cooked and provided with gravy. So we only had to do potatos, veg and of course pumpkin pie. It was a rather civilized Thanksgiving, where I played tennis outside on the Nyman farm driveway with the kids. Of course Jane still spent hours at the stove so she might have a different view of things. We did still have time to go for a walk along the beach in a gale force wind as well as go to the Nyman family Dutch Lutheran church. Son James commented on the pastor’s oratorical style as being like Hitler, in terms of the length and force of his delivery. Suggested he look around and note that all attending are blond haired and blue eyed.

    All the best guys

Leave a Reply

