Skip to content

Happy Halloween

October 29, 2009
by

Last weekend, we had a fun visit with Meg and her friend Damion who outdid themselves with pumpkin carvings. I’m not sure if the pictures are clear enough, but can you see whose image was carved? (Answer will be provided soon.)
Meg asked that I make Caramel Corn, which I used to do each year when the kiddos were younger. Here’s the recipe in case anyone has the urge!

Happy Halloween!

Jane

Caramel Corn
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup butter
½ cup corn syrup
Pinch cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
20 cups freshly popped popcorn

In heavy saucepan, stir together sugars, butter, corn syrup and cream of tartar. Bring to boil, stirring; boil for 5 minutes without stirring. (Mind that your heat is not too high and it burns on the bottom). Remove from heat; stir in baking soda.

Place popcorn in roasting pan; pour sugar mixture over and mix to coat well. Bake in 200 F oven for 1 hour, stirring every 10 minutes. Let cool, stirring occasionally. Store in airtight container.

Make 20 cups.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Jack permalink
    October 29, 2009 1:52 pm

    Hey those pumpkins look great. What did they use to carve them. I always use a kitchen knife with very geometric looking pumpkins, as comapared to these artistic but fuzzy ones

    • Jane Lafave permalink
      October 29, 2009 7:03 pm

      John,

      Meg downloaded the images from the web and bought a very inexpensive pumpkin carving kit. You actually punch out the design and then cut with very small serrated tools. Who knew, says she also of the geometric club?

  2. coadyl8 permalink*
    October 29, 2009 5:41 pm

    These look great! I don’t have a pumpkin yet, and am hoping that I can find one already carved. Unfortunately, I share our mother’s aversion to pumpkin guts.

    I have no aversion to caramel corn, however, and will be trying this soon!

    xoxo

  3. Laurie permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:48 pm

    Great pumpkins! Meg’s artistic talent obviously didn’t come from our side of the family. Is Obama next on the list?

    Caramel corn sounds like a good plan for this weekend. Em and I are on our own and need nourishment.
    xoxo

    • Uncle Jack permalink
      October 30, 2009 11:49 am

      oddly enough I thought on the thumbnail images that it was Obama. It wasn’t till i blew it up for the kids that i saw the Nike branded on Tiger.
      It did prompt me to google pumpkin carving. It turns out there are numerous pumpkin carving web sites. My highlight of the day yesterday was seeing the Death Star from Star Wars carved out of a pumpkin. It was hysterical.
      Anyways the kids thought the pumpkins were great. I hid the caramel corn recipe from them – think they will get enough sugar this weekend already

  4. Mike permalink
    October 30, 2009 6:06 pm

    I haven’t attacked our pumpkin yet with a knife but will do so tonight (probably). I will probably also get dressed up as a field mouse tomorrow because Marja will be getting dressed as a rabbit, and one of the boys’ favourite songs is about Little Bunny Foo-foo who hops through the forest, picks up field mice and bops them on the head. Ouch in advance.

    Mike

    PS Meg, I like the pumpkins. The boys will like them too once they see the pictures.

  5. Elaine permalink
    October 30, 2009 7:04 pm

    Guess what I am serving for dinner tonight, and there might even be some left over for tomorrow night. After all “corn” is a vegetable, and we need 5-10 servings a day. Cool pumpkins Meg and Damien.
    Hugs
    Elaine

  6. Clare permalink
    October 31, 2009 12:01 am

    Great carving Meg and Damien. I wondered if it might be Chris, and Paul agreed, but then I thought it was Tiger. We have 2 pumpkins sitting on the front porch, and nobody has carved them. I thought being Manny and Addie’s first Halloween, Paul and/or Sarah would oversee the carving, but no such luck. I think they are destined to remain plain pumpkins. If my Shaggy Monster Cookies don’t turn out tomorrow, I’ll be turning to the Caramel Corn as a treat to take our friends’ children, with whom we are going trick or treating. I haven’t done that in many years! Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

